Falklands row: Argentina gains more allies over claim for Falkland Islands

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

All eight members of the States of the Central American Integration System, SICA, were represented by Nicaragua at the UN Special Decolonisation Committee on the issue of the Falklands. The eight members are, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, and the Dominican Republic. All members agreed that Argentina should be given sovereignty over the islands.

Ambassador and permanent representative of Nicaragua to the United Nations Jaime Hermida Castillo expressed his support for the rights of the Argentine Republic to take sovereignty over the Falkland Islands, South Georgia, and South Sandwich Islands and their surrounding maritime spaces.

He stressed the governments of the Argentine Republic and the UK should resume negotiations in order to find a peaceful and definitive solution to the dispute.

In his statement to the UN the permanent representative of Nicaragua on behalf of the SICA said: “The SICA reiterates its strongest support for the legitimate rights of the Argentine Republic in the sovereignty dispute over the Malvinas Islands, South Georgias, and the South Sandwich Islands and the surrounding maritime areas.

“The SICA reiterates the importance of observing the provisions of United Nations General Assembly Resolution 31/49, which urges both parties to refrain from taking decisions that would imply introducing unilateral modifications to the situation, while the Malvinas Islands, South Georgias, and South Sandwich Islands and the surrounding maritime areas are going through the process recommended by the General Assembly.”

Mr Castillo added: “The SICA celebrates that the Central American Parliament adopted on 10 June the ‘Central American Solidarity Day’ with the Argentine Malvinas Islands.

“The SICA recalls the 75th anniversary that will mark the 55th anniversary of the adoption of United Nations General Assembly resolution 2065 (XX).

“This is the first resolution referring specifically to the question of the Malvinas Islands, subsequently renewed through successive resolutions of the General Assembly and the United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization to date.

“We note with satisfaction the important contribution made by the United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization in its consideration of the question during the fifty-five years since the adoption of resolution 2065 (XX).”

JUST IN: Boris told to tear up Brexit deal or Britain ‘risks owing £100billion’

The Argentine government maintains Resolution 2065 represents an endorsement by the UN General Assembly over their sovereignty claim.

Argentina calls the Falkland Islands the Malvinas.

It claims it inherited them from Spain in the early 1800s.

Argentina also bases its claim on the islands’ proximity to the South American mainland.

The British claim rests on the fact that it has had a long-term administration of the Falklands.

Also, almost all of the islanders are of British descent.

Additional reporting by Maria Ortega.

Falklands: Britain’s Battle of San Carlos victory over Argentina [UPDATE]
Falklands shock: Argentina used British WW2 ship to attack UK forces [INSIGHT]
Falklands snub: How France helped Argentina during war with UK [ANALYSIS]

Source: Read Full Article