Government confirms which areas will face tough new tier restrictions

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

Matt Hancock has announced a series of new tier restrictions to combat the spread of the coronavirus, which will come into force at midnight.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock confirmed the measures in the House of Commons today, with a new, more infectious strain of Covid-19 now spreading throughout the entire country.

Three quarters of the country will be living under the restrictions by Thursday morning, December 31.

The following areas will face Tier 4 restrictions:

  • Leicester City
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Coventry
  • Solihull
  • Warwickshire
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Lancashire
  • Cheshire and Warrington
  • Cumbria
  • Greater Manchester
  • Tees Valley
  • North East
  • Gloucestershire
  • Somerset council
  • Swindon
  • Bournemouth
  • Isle of Wight
  • New Forest

Tier 3 restrictions will apply in these areas:

  • Rutland
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin
  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Liverpool City Region
  • York and North Yorkshire
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Devon, Plymouth, Torbay
  • Cornwall
  • Dorset
  • Wiltshire
  • Coronavirus

Source: Read Full Article